2 candidates file for spots on Kilgore College Board of Trustees election

Kilgore College:

KILGORE (KYTX) - With three Kilgore College Board of Trustees seats up for re-election this spring, two outside candidates have filed for a spot on the board. 

Marion Turner, of Kilgore, has filed for the Central Zone which represents Kilgore Independent School District.  He joins Brian Nutt, pastor at Grace Fellowship of Kilgore, who also filed for the Central Zone seat. 

The Central Zone spot is currently held by R.E. "Sonny" Spradlin, who said that he has not decided yet as to whether he will run for another term. 

Current board members whose terms expire in May are: Joe Carrington Voting Unit 2, Place 8, in the North Zone; R.E. "Sonny" Spradlin, Voting Unit 3, Place 9, in the Central Zone; and Robert D. Heath, Voting Unit No. 1, Place 7, in the South Zone. 

Both Carrington and Heath have filed for re-election. 

The application process will remain open through Friday, March 1.

Early voting is Monday through Friday, April 29 through May 7.  The actual election date is May 11.

Voting Unit No. 1 consists of the Overton and Leverett's Chapel Independent School Districts and the West Rusk County Consolidated Independent School District. 

Voting Unit No. 2 consists of the Gladewater, White Oak and Sabine Independent School Districts. 

Voting Unit No. 3 consists of the Kilgore Independent School District.

Forms for application for a place on the ballot can be picked up in the Assistant to the President's Office, or in the Office of Institutional Planning in the McLaurin Administration Building on the Kilgore campus. 

Office hours are 7:45 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 7:45 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. on Fridays. 

To receive forms by mail, call 903-983-8207.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment