Emotional warning from East Texas woman mourning boyfriend

Emotional warning from East Texas woman mourning boyfriend

TROUP (KYTX) - Winds topping 30 miles per hour made it illegal to burn Monday, and made fire danger extremely high.

An East Texas woman who lost a loved one two weeks ago after an uncontrolled burn has an emotional reminder for her community.

Pamela White's invited us to her home in Troup, where her boyfriend, Bobby Prescott accidentally started a fire that took his life. 

Prescott was a double amputee, and was in a wheelchair, and was in the backyard burning on a chilly Tuesday. 

"I don't think the wind was quite this high, but it was still too high to burn," White says.

White says her boyfriend Bobby always took so much caution when burning outside, but for some reason, that Tuesday was different.

"The water hose wasn't even hooked up. When I looked back all I saw was smoke. I couldn't see him so I took off running out the back door," she says.

She finally saw bobby surrounded by fire.

"He said, 'Hurry I'm stuck!' So by the time I got all the way around there he was already on fire.  So I just had to pull him out of the chair," White says.

Bobby made it to a Dallas hospital -- but couldn't handle the injuries. He died three days later. 

White gazes at the burns on Bobby's wheelchair and then glances down at the burns on her own hands from pulling him out of the fire. She hopes her emotional and physical scars will send a message, and maybe even save a life in the future.  

"If you don't have to burn, don't burn," she pleads. "If you do, please make sure you have somebody with you. You can lose your life. Everything else can be replaced but a life can't. I've lost Bobby and I can't get him back."

White says this might have ended very differently had Bobby hooked up that hose. Having water around you while burning is the number one thing fire crews say you should do. 

It is illegal to burn when the wind is at 23 miles per hour or more. Even when it's around 13 to 15 miles per hour, firefighters ask you to refrain from burning. 

Burning illegally can land you with a fine up to $500 dollars. 



To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment