Honorees talk about TISD Hall of Fame induction

Honorees talk about TISD Hall of Fame induction

Written by: Phil Hicks

The inaugural class of the Tyler ISD Athletic Hall of Fame will be inducted Friday at halftime of the Rose City Showdown at Trinity Mother Frances Rose Stadium, Rod Kaspar, TISD Athletic Director, said.

The Robert E. Lee-John Tyler game is scheduled for a 7:30 p.m. kickoff. JT is the home team. The Hall of Fame ceremony will be a yearly event.

This year's class includes:

Earl Campbell — JT Class of 1974; Heisman Trophy winner and All-America at The University of Texas at Austin in 1977; three-time National Football League Most Valuable Player; member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Mike Carter — JT Class of 1968; help lead the Lions to back to back state baseball tournaments in 1967-68. He died of a sudden illness after graduation. The baseball stadium where JT, Lee and Tyler Junior College play is named after him.

Clifford Gregory — Tyler High School Class of 1931. He was team captain of the 1930 state football champion Lions who defeated Amarillo 25-13 in the final in Fort Worth. He was also all-state.

Billy Hall — Tyler High School Class of 1956. After graduating from Baylor, coached at Robert E. Lee High School and was later TISD Athletic Director.

Daniel Hernandez — JT Class of 1994. All-state soccer player for the Lions and has played professionally in Major League Soccer and Mexican League.

Charles Milstead — Tyler High School Class of 1956. Led the Lions to the 1955 state title game and was all-state both his junior and senior season. He later starred at Texas A&M and with the Houston Oilers.

Kristee Porter — JT Class of 1998. All-state volleyball standout, All-America at UCLA and played professionally.

Aaron Ross — JT Class of 2001. The all-state defensive back led the Lions to the 2000 state finals. Helped The University of Texas at Austin to the 2005 national championship and won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's outstanding defensive back. Won two Super Bowl championships with the New York Giants.

Robert Taylor — Emmett Scott High School Class of 1968. An American track and field sprinter, winner of the gold medal in 4 100-meter relay at the 1972 Summer Olympics in Munich. He also won silver in the 100-meter dash. Taylor won the AAU 100-meter championship in 1972. Was an All-American at Texas Southern and later taught in the TISD.

Dayna Reed Westbrook — Robert E. Lee Class of 1987. All-state basketball player who led the Lady Raiders to a 30-2 mark and the state basketball finals of Class 5A in 1986. Played four years at Stephen F. Austin and is currently head coach of both the boys and girls basketball teams at Douglass High School.

Allen Wilson — Head coach of John Tyler from 1991 to 2001. He led the Lions to the 1994 state championship and returned the Lions to the finals in 2000.

1973 John Tyler High School football team — Coach Corky Nelson led the Lions to the Class 4A championship and a 15-0 record. With such stars as Campbell, Ronnie Lee, Gary Don Johnson, the Campbell twins - Steve and Tim, the Lions were voted the top football team from 1960 to 1985 by Dave Campbell's Texas Football Magazine.

Kaspar said the inductees were selected based on their high school achievements, post high school accomplishments, and other contributing factors.

Kaspar said Raising Cane's is the corporate sponsor for the TISD Athletic Hall of Fame.

The inductees were selected from nominations to the TISD. To submit nominations for the 2014 class look on tylerisd.org in the coming weeks.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment