(KYTX) - A Lufkin woman was charged Thursday with driving while intoxicated with child passengers younger than 15, according to officials.
Elisabeth Ann Netherton, 25, was released Friday from the Angelina County Jail on a $5,000 bond. Netherton reportedly wrecked her vehicle into a fence. No injuries were reported.
Law enforcement throughout the area are taking extra precautions this holiday season to keep possible drunk drivers off the highways.
According to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, about 2,000 people die each year in DWI-related accidents.
Penalties for a first-offense DWI include up to a $2,000 fine, up to six months in jail, suspension of driver's license for up to one year; and an annual fine of $1,000 for three years to keep driving privileges.
Penalties for a second-offense DWI include up to a $4,000 fine, up to one year in jail, suspension of driver's license for up to two years and an annual fine of $1,500 for three years.
And penalties for a third-offense DWI include up to a $10,000 fine; two to 10 years in jail, suspension of driver's license for up to two years and an annual fine of $2,000 for three years.
Driving while intoxicated with a child is a felony in Texas, and the driver's license will be automatically suspended, according to DMV officials.
Therefore, officials urge drivers to be responsible in order to not only avoid fines and jail time, but injuries and death on Texas highways.