Mike Modano Elected To Hockey Hall Of Fame

DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – Former Dallas Stars center Mike Modano has been elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility.

Modano is the all-time leading goal scorer and points leader among American-born players in the NHL.

Modano was the 1st overall selection by the Minnesota North Stars in the 1988 NHL Entry Draft.

In 21 seasons, the Michigan-native appeared in 1,499 games, collecting 561 goals and 813 assists in the regular season.

He is the Stars' franchise leader in games played (1,459), goals (557), assists (802), points (1,359), game-winning goals (92), power play goals (156), and short-handed goals (29).

"Mike's selection into the Hockey Hall of Fame cements what many of us here in Dallas have known for a long time – he is not only a Stars franchise icon, he's one of the finest NHL players of his era," said Dallas Stars Owner and Governor Tom Gaglardi. "He is very deserving of this great honor, and his induction into this exclusive club is a testament to the legacy he has built with his brilliant career and first-class persona. We congratulate Mike, as well as his family and the rest of the 2014 Hockey Hall of Fame class."

The seven-time All Star and United States Hockey Hall of Fame inductee helped bring the only Stanley Cup to Dallas in 1999, leading the team with 23 points in their playoff run. He also won a silver medal with Team U.S.A. at the 2002 Winter Olympics. Modano joins goaltender Dominik Hasek, Peter Forsberg, the late coach Pat Burns, Rob Blake and former referee Bill MCreary in the 2014 class.

Only eight other members of the Stars organization have been inducted: Harry Howell (1979), Gump Worsley (1980), John Mariucci (1985), Leo Boivin (1986), Al Shaver (broadcaster, 1993), Brett Hull (2009), Joe Nieuwendyk (2011) and Ed Belfour (2011).

Modan's iconic No. 9 was retired on March 8, 2014.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment