'Safe Haven Law' protects baby, mom

TYLER (KYTX) - An update on the newborn found on a carport inside a handbag Sunday in Corsicana. The baby boy is being cared for at Navarro Regional Hospital and is in CPS custody. CBS 19's Amanda Roberson explains there's a safer, legal option for mothers who don't know what to do.

Texas was the first state to pass a law 13 years ago protecting mothers who have unwanted babies. It's called the Safe Haven Law, better known in Texas as "Baby Moses Law" named after the first baby saved. CPS is reminding people, especially mothers this is a safer option when giving up a newborn.

"It's a choice for the mother and it's actually a chance for the child," explained Brenda Sanchez with the Smith County Children's Advocacy Center. She said about 100 Texas newborns are abandoned every year.

The Safe Haven Law allows mothers to take those babies to a designated area: fire station, police station or local hospital and drop off the baby no questions asked - just look for the yellow signs.

"Just the thought of abandoning a baby is not high on everybody's list, but in the world we live in today there could be an issue that comes up that that needs to take place and last resort, they have an option," added Tyler Fire Chief Tim Johnson. "They can bring it to the fire station and the baby can get taken care of."

Through the law, the mother can also get medical help at that time. The Safe Haven Law protects babies up to 60 days old.

Tuesday, CPS said there has been a flood of calls from people interested in adopting the Corsicana baby.

The mother who abandoned that baby boy has not been found. If you have any information call Coriscana Police Department.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment