UTHSC president to aid search for next UT-Arlington president

AUSTIN (KYTX) – Kirk A. Calhoun, MD, president of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler, is one of 16 people appointed to the committee that will advise The University of Texas System Board of Regents on the selection of the next president of The University of Texas at Arlington.

Board of Regents Chairman Gene Powell named the members of the advisory search committee today, Tuesday, Aug. 21.

The committee will recommend a list of potential candidates – without ranking them – for the board to consider. The next president of UT Arlington will succeed President James Spaniolo, who in June announced his intention to leave the top post once his successor is in place.

It will be chaired by Pedro Reyes, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs in the UT System. Besides Dr. Calhoun, other committee members include Regent Wallace L. Hall, Jr., of Dallas, president, Wetland Partners, LP; Regent Alex M. Cranberg of Austin, chairman and CEO, Aspect Holdings, LLC; and Ricardo Romo, Ph.D., president, The University of Texas at San Antonio.

The committee also includes UT Arlington faculty, a student, an alumnus of the school, and members of the Dallas-Fort Worth community.

In 2011, Dr. Calhoun also served on the board of regents' search committee that recommended candidates for president of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

For more information, visit the UT System website at http://www.utsystem.edu/news/2012/08/21/presidential-search-advisory-committee-named-ut-arlington.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment