Under The Lights - Whitehouse Football Preview

Whitehouse High School Football Preview

WHITEHOUSE - Last year, the Whitehouse football team made the playoffs for the first time since the Patrick Mahomes era ended.

This year, they expect to be back in the playoffs.

Whitehouse brings back several key players from that team. On offense, they had 2 quarterbacks split time last year, but this year, Jake Clemons will run the show. That continuity under center should help the offense find a groove early and that's a big reason why expectations are so high.

Head coach Adam Cook says, "We feel very confident that if we go out and play the way that we can play, control the things that we can control, that we can put ourselves in position to win the district."

On defense, the Wildcats bring back several players who received district or state recognition. Their defense was arguably the best in 17-5A last year, and they think it should be just as good, if not better, this year.

Whitehouse senior safety Javier Neal says, "I see potential to be great, we've just got smart players, not the best athletes, but we have really smart players and we're going to do things right."

 

WHITEHOUSE 2017 FOOTBALL SCHEDULE

Fri. Sept. 1 at Hallsville

Thurs. Sept. 7 vs. Chapel Hill (at Rose Stadium, Tyler)

Fri. Sept. 15 vs. Carthage

Fri. Sept. 22 vs. Sulphur Springs

Fri. Sept. 29 at Kennedale

Fri. Oct. 6 - BYE

Fri. Oct. 13 vs. Ennis

Fri. Oct. 20 at Jacksonville

Fri. Oct. 27 vs. Nacogdoches

Fri. Nov. 3 at Corsicana

Fri. Nov. 10 vs. Lindale

 

© 2017 KYTX-TV


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment
TRENDING VIDEOS