Breaking News
More () »

WKU's Baily Zappe wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

He was one of five finalists up for the honor.

TYLER, Texas — After gaining respect nationwide during a record-breaking season, Western Kentucky quarterback Bailey Zappe capped off the year by winning the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.  

He was one of five finalists up for the honor.

Other finalists included:

  • UTSA running back Sincere McCormick
  • Baylor running back Abram Smith
  • Kansas State running back Deuce Vaughn
  • Ohio State wide receiver Garrett Wilson

Zappe joins other notable quarterbacks who've won this award such as Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray. He earned the honor after breaking the FBS passing touchdown and yards records, throwing for more than 60 touchdowns and 5,967 yards.

"I'm ecstatic this is a dream come true growing up playing football in Texas all of us football players have idolized Earl Campbell we grow up watching his highlights so its awesome to be holding his trophy," Zappe said.

Zappe plans to enter the NFL draft  next season and leaves the WKU program with nothing but gratitude.